The Simple Truth: The FCC & ISPs Are Attacking Free Speech Online

Editor’s note: I had originally intended to publish this article Saturday morning after I’d received some information from an anonymous but friendly user concerned about the FCC’s nightmare decision to repeal net neutrality on Thursday afternoon. Unfortunately during that very same evening, my ongoing head-cold morphed into some kind of terrible body flu and I’ve been aching, moaning and manufacturing alarming quantities of mucus ever since. At this point I’m sick, I’m cranky and if it weren’t for the timely nature of today’s post I would definitely be back in bed right now; this one is going to be very short and hopefully still very informative.

In today’s The Simple Truth post, we’re going to talk about why the FCC’s ruling threatens your ability to express dissent against the power structure, how your right to have a say in this process was completely ignored by FCC chairman Ajit Pai and what you can do about it to make sure your voice is heard:

 

 

Sources:

Net neutrality is now officially on life support; here’s what happens next

The Most Hated Man on the Internet: Ajit Pai

Who Is Ajit Pai? The FCC Chairman Who Just Repealed Net Neutrality Rules

After FCC Abandons Net Neutrality, States Take Up the Fight

These are the arguments against net neutrality and why they’re wrong

The FCC just decided to repeal net neutrality; here’s why that’s really, really bad

Here’s a List of the Members of Congress Who Told Pai to Repeal Net Neutrality

The 265 members of Congress who sold you out to ISPs & how much it cost to buy them

The GOP Attack on Net Neutrality Is an Attack on Democracy & Free Speech

Overwhelming Bipartisan Majority Opposes Repealing Net Neutrality

More than 80 per cent of Americans oppose repeal of net neutrality rules: survey

The FCC asked for net neutrality opinions, then rejected most of them

 The FCC Is Blocking a Law Enforcement Investigation Into Net Neutrality Comment Fraud

NY Attorney General: Stolen Identities Account for Millions of Net Neutrality Comments

 

As I mentioned in the above info-graphic, there are literally a truly staggering number of reasons why the Federal Communications Commission’s decision to repeal Title II protection for net neutrality is horrible; not the least of which is the fact that it’s a blatant hand-job for monopoly internet service providers – granted by a totally compromised FCC, it’s openly sympathetic commissioner and a corrupt Republican government; all at the expense of the common people.

Although well-compensated lackeys insist that the monopoly service providers can be trusted to police themselves, this argument rings hollow when you realize these are also the same ISP corporations who have a long and sullied history of both abusing consumers and violating free speech rights in the United States. Furthermore, Pai’s flippant attitude about protecting Americans from ISP’s as well as his curious choice of talking points and media allies strongly suggests that relying on the FCC to step in when corporations do inevitably discriminate against customers and violate free speech rights is a fool’s errand at best.

Perhaps the most infuriating part about this decision however, is that the Commission allowed all of this to happen after accepting almost no public input into the ruling whatsoever; despite the FCC’s obvious legal requirement to do so. Neither Pai nor the commission has the right to demand only “legal arguments” after opening up commentary to the general public and hiding behind an automated fake comments & stolen identities scandal to justify ignoring petitioners (when literally 95% of the actual organic comments favored keeping Title II protection) is shamefully undemocratic behavior on the FCC’s part.

This injustice simply cannot be allowed to stand and thanks to an anonymous tip, I think I’ve found a way for you to have an opportunity to have your opinion heard by the non-elected “public servants” over at the Federal Communications Commission. Below you’ll find what I believe are the names and email addresses of every FCC employee that currently exists in the government’s public, online information. While the Title II repeal ruling works its way through court, I’m asking you to email each of these people and let them know what you think about this decision while there is still time for the Commission to correct this grave error on the side of corporate elite totalitarianism. Please, I am begging you; be respectful, don’t flood some random systems tech’s box with spam and do not, under any circumstances harass anyone – especially in light of the fact that not everyone at the FCC supports this decision.

This is your opportunity to share your opinion with the FCC, an opportunity that was previously denied by pro-corporate spambots; don’t blow it with abusive or immature behavior.

 

FCC Contact Info

 

Offices:

Richard L. Sippel – richard.sippel@fcc.gov                    Monique Gray – monique.gray@fcc.gov

Rachel Funk – rachel.funk@fcc.gov                                Patricia Ducksworth – patricia.ducksworth@fcc.gov

Sanford Williams – sanford.williams@fcc.gov              Belford Lawson III – belford.lawson@fcc.gov

Christian Fiascunari – christian.fiascunari@fcc.gov    Corrin Barksdale – no address in the system

John Finnie – john.finnie@fcc.gov                                   Maura McGowan – maura.mcgowan@fcc.gov

Sharon Stewart – sharon.stewart@fcc.gov                   Carolyn Williams – carolyn.williams@fcc.gov

 

Front Office:

Thomas M. Johnson Jr – thomas.johnson@fcc.gov       P.Michele Ellison – michele.ellison@fcc.gov,

David Gossett – david.gossett@fcc.gov                          Ashley Boizelle – ashley.boizelle@fcc.gov

Karen Onyeije – karen.onyeije@fcc.gov                          James R Bird – no address in the system

John Williams – john.williams2@fcc.gov

 

Administrative Law Division:

Linda Oliver – linda.oliver@fcc.gov                                 William Richardson – william.richardson@fcc.gov

Chin Yoo – chin.yoo@fcc.gov

 

Assistant Bureau Chief for Management:

Carlette S. Smith – carlette.smith@fcc.gov

 

Litigation Division:

Jacob M Lewis – jacob.lewis@fcc.gov                               Richard K. Welch – richard.welch@fcc.gov

Susan L. Launer – susan.launer@fcc.gov                         David L. Hunt – david.hunt@fcc.gov

Jay Keithley – jay.keithley@fcc.gov                                   Sharon Diskin – sharon.diskin@fcc.gov

Sonja Rifken – sonja.rifken@fcc.gov                                 Robert McGriff – robert.mcgriff@fcc.gov

Sophila Jones – sophila.jones@fcc.gov                             Sharon Spencer – sharon.spencer@fcc.gov

Stephen Ebner – stephen.ebner@fcc.gov                        Anthony Bush – no address in the system

 

Office of Legislative Affairs:

Tim Strachan – timothy.strachan@fcc.gov                      Jim Balaguer – jim.balaguer@fcc.gov

Jill Pender – jill.pender@fcc.gov                                        Joy Medley – joy.medley@fcc.gov

Alethea Lewis – alethea.lewis@fcc.gov                            Aurelle Porter – aurelle.porter@fcc.gov

Chelle Richmond – chelle.richmond@fcc.gov

 

Managing Director:

Mark Stephens – mark.stephens@fcc.gov                       Mindy Ginsburg – mindy.ginsburg@fcc.gov

Deena Shetler – deena.shetler@fcc.gov                           Daniel Daly – daniel.daly@fcc.gov

Thomas Buckley – thomas.buckley@fcc.gov                   Cara Voth – cara.voth@fcc.gov

Warren Firschein – warren.firschein@fcc.gov

 

Office of Managing Director:

Tom Green – tom.green@fcc.gov                                      David Bray – no address in the system

Kathleen Heuer – kathleen.heuer@fcc.gov                      James Lyons – james.lyons@fcc.gov

Dawn DiGiorgio – dawn.digiorgio@fcc.gov                      Noelle Green – noelle.green@fcc.gov

Vanessa Lamb – vanessa.lamb@fcc.gov                           Toni McGowan – toni.mcgowan@fcc.gov

Sheryl Todd – sheryl.todd@fcc.gov                                   Marlene Dorch – no address in the system

MaryKay Mitchell – marykay.mitchell@fcc.gov               Paul Laurenzano – paul.laurenzano@fcc.gov

Constance Jodon – constance.jodon@fcc.gov                 Carol Edwards – carol.edwards@fcc.gov

Ellen Standiford – ellen.standiford@fcc.gov                    Curtis Everett – curtis.everett@fcc.gov

Christine Calvosa – marie.calvosa@fcc.gov                      John Skudlarek – john.skudlarek@fcc.gov

Jae Seong – jae.seong@fcc.gov                                          Tim Dates – tim.dates@fcc.gov

Linda Ning – linda.ning@fcc.gov                                       Andy Mulitz – no address in the system

Jeanne McDonald – jeanne.mcdonald@fcc.gov             Cheryl Collins – cheryl.collins@fcc.gov

Cecilia Sigmund – cecilia.sigmund@fcc.gov                    Sheryl Segal – sheryl.segal@fcc.gov

Sheryl Todd – sheryl.todd@fcc.gov                                  John Zentner – john.zentner@fcc.gov

Mary Harmon – mary.harmon@fcc.gov

 

Media Relation:

Brian Hart – brian.hart@fcc.gov                                        Mark Wigfield – mark.wigfield@fcc.gov

Neil Grace – neil.grace@fcc.gov                                       Tina Pelkey – tina.pelkey@fcc.gov

Will Wiquist – will.wiquist@fcc.gov                                  Wayne Leighton – wayne.leighton@fcc.gov

Larry Hudson – larry.hudson@fcc.gov                            Ramona Mann – ramona.mann@fcc.gov

 

Consumer & Governmental Affairs Bureau:

Patrick Webre – patrick.webre@fcc.gov

 

Enforcement Bureau:

Rosemary Harold – rosemary.harold@fcc.gov              Michael Carowitz – michael.carowitz@fcc.gov

Lisa Gelb – lisa.gelb@fcc.gov                                            Christopher Killion – christopher.killion@fcc.gov

Keith Morgan – keith.morgan@fcc.gov                          Phillip Rosario – phillip.rosario@fcc.gov

Hillary Burchuk – hillary.burchuk@fcc.gov                     Jennifer Epperson – jennifer.epperson@fcc.gov

Jeremy Marcus – jeremy.marcus@fcc.gov                      Geoffrey Starks – geoffrey.starks@fcc.gov

Jon Minkoff – jon.minkoff@fcc.gov                                  David Strickland – david.strickland@fcc.gov

Rizwan Chowdhry – rizwan.chowdhry@fcc.gov             Daniel Meyerson – daniel.meyerson@fcc.gov

Michael Scurato – michael.scurato@fcc.gov                  Deborah Ridley – deborah.ridley@fcc.gov

 

Office of Management & Resources:

Sheila Hayes – sheila.hayes@fcc.gov

 

Investigations & Hearings Division:

Jeffrey Gee – jeffrey.gee@fcc.gov                                    Christopher Sova – christopher.sova@fcc.gov

Kalun Lee – kalun.lee@fcc.gov                                         Matthew Conaty – matthew.conaty@fcc.gov

 

Market Disputes Resolution Division:

Rosemary McEnery – rosemary.mcenery@fcc.gov          Lisa Griffin – lisa.griffin@fcc.gov

 

Spectrum Enforcement Division:

Aspasia Paroutsas – aspasia.paroutsas@fcc.gov             Ricardo Durham – ricardo.durham@fcc.gov

JoAnn Lucanik – joann.lucanik@fcc.gov

 

Telecommunications Consumers Division:

Richard Hindman – richard.hindman@fcc.gov                 Sharon Lee  – sharon.lee@fcc.gov

Kristi Thompson – kristi.thompson@fcc.gov                    David Valdez – david.valdez@fcc.gov

David Dombrowski – david.dombrowski@fcc.gov           Ronald Ramage – ronald.ramage@fcc.gov

Lark Hadley – lark.hadley@fcc.gov

 

Enforcement Bureau USF Strike Force:

Rakesh Patel – rakesh.patel@fcc.gov                                 Loyaan Egal – no address in the system

 

Office of the Field Director:

Charles Cooper – charles.cooper@fcc.gov                         Steve Spaeth – no address in the system

Mathew Gibson – matthew.gibson@fcc.gov                     Janet Moran – janet.moran@fcc.gov

 

Equipment Development Group:

Greg Hermes – greg.hermes@fcc.gov

 

Media Bureau:

Michelle Carey – michelle.carey@fcc.gov                              Mary Beth Murphy – marybeth.murphy@fcc.gov

Thomas Horan – thomas.horan@fcc.gov                               Nancy Murphy – nancy.murphy@fcc.gov

Holly Saurer – holly.saurer@fcc.gov                                       Hillary DeNigro – hillary.denigro@fcc.gov

Alexander Sanjenis – alexander.sanjenis@fcc.gov                Jeffrey Neumann – jeffrey.neumann@fcc.gov

Janice Wise – janice.wise@fcc.gov                                            India Malcolm – india.malcolm@fcc.gov

Michael S. Perko – michael.perko@fcc.gov                            Martha Heller – martha.heller@fcc.gov

Steven Broeckaert – steven.broeckaert@fcc.gov                  Brendan Murray – brendan.murray@fcc.gov

Brendan Holland – brendan.holland@fcc.gov                       Andrew Wise – andrew.wise@fcc.gov

Benjamin Arden – benjamin.arden@fcc.gov                          John Wong – john.wong@fcc.gov

Sean Yun – sean.yun@fcc.gov                                                  Peter Doyle – peter.doyle@fcc.gov

Tom Hutton – tom.hutton@fcc.gov                                         James Bradshaw – james.bradshaw@fcc.gov

Lisa Scanlan – lisa.scanlan@fcc.gov                                        Barbara Kreisman – barbara.kreisman@fcc.gov

Hossein Hashemzadeh – hossein hashemzadeh@fcc.gov  David Brown – david.brown@fcc.gov

 

Public Safety & Homeland Security Bureau:

Lisa M. Fowlkes – lisa.fowlkes@fcc.gov                               David Furth – david.furth@fcc.gov

Debra Jordan – debra.jordan@fcc.gov                                Nicole McGinnis – nicole.mcginnis@fcc.gov

Lauren Kravetz – lauren.kravetz@fcc.gov                            Kenneth Carlberg – kenneth.carlberg@fcc.gov

Jeffery Goldthorp – jeffery.goldthorp@fcc.gov                  Anita Patankar-Stoll – anita.patankar-stoll@fcc.gov

Emily Talaga – emily.talaga@fcc.gov                                   Erika Olsen – erika.olsen@fcc.gov

Renee Roland – renee.roland@fcc.gov                                Rochelle Cohen – rochelle.cohen@fcc.gov

Arlene Bell – arlene.bell@fcc.gov                                         Jaime Rivas – jaime.rivas@fcc.gov

Andi Roane – andi.roane@fcc.gov                                       Gene Fullano – no address in the system

 

(ERIC) Cybersecurity & Communications Reliability Division:

David Plotinsky – david.plotinsky@fcc.gov                         Jennifer Holtz – jennifer.holtz@fcc.gov

John Healy – john.healy@fcc.gov                                         Michael Wilhelm – michael.wilhelm@fcc.gov

Tracy Simmons – tracy.simmons@fcc.gov                          Greg Cooke – no address in the system

Chris Anderson – chris.anderson@fcc.gov                          Justin Cain – justin.cain@fcc.gov

Jim Pierson – no address in the system

 

Wireless Telecommunications Bureau:

Johnny Drake – johnny.drake@fcc.gov                                 Jean Kiddoo – jean.kiddoo@fcc.gov

Neşe Guendelsberger – nese.guendelsberger@fcc.gov     Dana Shaffer – dana.shaffer@fcc.gov

Joel Taubenblatt – joel.taubenblatt@fcc.gov                       Suzanne Tetreault – suzanne.tetreault@fcc.gov

Charles Mathias – charles.mathias@fcc.gov                        Michael Janson – michael.janson@fcc.gov

Paroma Sanyal – paroma.sanyal@fcc.gov                            Charles Eberle – charles.eberle@fcc.gov

Theodore Marcus – theodore.marcus@fcc.gov                   Aalok Mehta – aalok.mehta@fcc.gov

Charles Meisch – charles.meisch@fcc.gov                           Matthew Pearl – matthew.pearl@fcc.gov

Cecilia Sulhoff – cecilia.sulhoff@fcc.gov                               Mary Claire York – maryclaire.york@fcc.gov

Cecelia Green – cecelia.green@fcc.gov                                 Donald Stockdale – donald.stockdale@fcc.gov

Margaret Wiener – margaret.wiener@fcc.gov                     Gary Michaels – gary.michaels@fcc.gov

Craig Bomberger – craig.bomberger@fcc.gov                     William Huber – william.huber@fcc.gov

Linda Sanderson – linda.sanderson@fcc.gov                       Kelly Quinn – kelly.quinn@fcc.gov

Erik Salovaara – erik.salovaara@fcc.gov                               Martha Stancill – martha.stancill@fcc.gov

Rita Cookmeyer – rita.cookmeyer@fcc.gov

 

Auctions & Spectrum Access Division:

Garnet Hanly – garnet.hanly@fcc.gov                                  Jeff Steinberg – no address in the system

Peter Trachtenberg – peter.trachtenberg@fcc.gov            Kate Matraves – no address in the system

Aaron Goldschmidt – aaron.goldschmidt@fcc.gov            Betsy McIntyre – no address in the system

Ziad Sleem – ziad.sleem@fcc.gov                                        Pramesh Jobanputra – pramesh.jobanputra@fcc.gov

Erica Rosenberg – erica.rosenberg@fcc.gov                       Amy Brett – amy.brett@fcc.gov

 

Competition & Infrastructure Policy Division:

Blaise Scinto – blaise.scinto@fcc.gov                                  Stephen Buenzow – stephen.buenzow@fcc.gov

Peter Daronco – peter.daronco@fcc.gov                            John Schauble – john.schauble@fcc.gov

Jennifer Tomchin – jennifer.tomchin@fcc.gov                   Sandra Danner – sandra.danner@fcc.gov

Paul Malmud – paul.malmud@fcc.gov                               Ruth Taylor – ruth.taylor@fcc.gov

 

Broadband Division:

Diane Dupert – diane.dupert@fcc.gov                                 Mary Deatrick – mary.deatrick@fcc.gov

Dorothy Stifflemire – dorothy.stifflemire@fcc.gov            Melvin Del Rosario – melvin.delrosario@fcc.gov

 

Technologies Systems & Innovation Division:

Roger Noel – roger.noel@fcc.gov                                       Lloyd Coward – lloyd.coward@fcc.gov

Kathy Harris – kathy.harris@fcc.gov                                   Scot Stone – scot.stone@fcc.gov

Linda Chang – linda.chang@fcc.gov                                   Tom Derenge – no address in the system

Keith Harper – keith.harper@fcc.gov                                  Mike Regiec – mike.regiec@fcc.gov

Paul Powell – paul.powell@fcc.gov

 

Commission:

Ajit Pai – ajit.pai@fcc.gov                                                     Michael O’Rielly – Mike.O’Rielly@fcc.gov

Brendan Carr – brendan.carr@fcc.gov                              Mignon Clyburn – mignon.clyburn@fcc.gov

Jessica Rosenworcel – jessica.rosenworcel@fcc.gov

 

 

  • Nina Illingworth

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply